New York adventures – part 2

Since today is Thanksgiving, I promise to keep this post short.

Since it has been a long few weeks for us all, we went to bed around midnight last night and then slept in this morning. I did not get up until 9:30. But even better than that, I did not get out of my p.j.s until 3 p.m. It was a wonderful day. I laid in bed watching the Macy’s parade and as soon as it was over flipped over to the James Bond marathon. No matter where you are, Thanksgiving is quite similar.

Around noon my mom and aunt decided to go for a walk around the block and stopped in to the local bakery to get bagels. I toasted mine and added veggie cream cheese. They were so fluffy and fresh, it was the perfect Thanksgiving brunch.

Once I finally got dressed, we headed to Central Park west to take a short walk. We walked a ways into the park and took pictures with the last remains of the fall foliage. After wasting some time we headed down the street to our Thanksgiving dinner with a food writer. Needless to say, the food was fantastic. To name a few, we had turkey, mashed potatoes and sweet potatoe casserole with chipotle. It was delicious, such an interesting combination of flavors. And for dessert we had Chess pie and homemade whipped cream.

But the best part of the entire Thanksgiving dinner was the cat. Wyl-E, also known as The Cat Who Came to Live With a Food Writer, was very excited for Thanksgiving. He loves people food and is always in the kitchen helping with the preparations. (Tasting is more like it!)

After our not-so-tiring day in New York we headed back home to christen the new season by watching White Christmas. My all time favorite Christmas movie. I cry every time they sing “We’ll follow the old man wherever he wants to go.” Now I know that the Christmas season has truly started.

Tomorrow we are headed out early to do some shopping in SoHo and then to a night showing of the Rockettes Christmas Spectacular. I do love those high-kicking girls!

20111124-223416.jpg

20111124-223451.jpg

20111124-223516.jpg