New York adventures – part 1

It has been a long few weeks. I’ve been working hard to finish all of my school projects and my internship application. But, with only a few hours of sleep in the last 3 days, I managed it. And as my reward (O.K., it’s actually for my 21st birthday) I’m in New York!

I woke up this morning at 4, jumped promptly out of the bed (yeah right) finished packing the last few things in my suitcase and headed out the door with my mommy. We arrived at the airport expecting huge lines and lots of grumpy people traveling on the day before Thanksgiving. Luckily for us, our assumption was wrong. We stopped in to get some breakfast and then sat down to wait for our plane to arrive. I would like to say that I spent the plane ride bettering myself by reading and analyzing one of the great classics, but alas, I slept most of the way. As a side note, I did start my book, it’s called “Intern Nation,” but I’ll save that for another post.

We arrived in NY only a half hour late. We grabbed our bags, got directly into a taxi and headed for the city. Amazingly, we arrived at my aunt’s apartment early. That never happens when you are going to NYC. Apparently the fates were with us today. The rain even held out until we were just inside the apartment door.

After our arrival we headed down the street a few blocks to Resto, a fabulous Belgian grill that my aunt likes to frequent. We all ordered the burger and frites. It was one of the best things I have ever tasted. And they might call them French fries, but the Belgians know how to make them best. We had a glass of red wine with our burgers and the richest, creamiest, chocolate gelatto for dessert. We met Amelia, my aunt’s assistant from work. I had heard so much about her before meeting her that I knew I would love her. She puts off this vibe of strength that I truly admire.

After lunch we decided to take a cab and do a little shopping. We visited the fabulous (but sadly, going out of business) Filene’s Basement. Then we looked in Anthropologie and Kate Spade. I saw some of the most beautiful clothes I had ever seen. No purchases yet for me, but I know I’ll leave here with something fabulous. Even if it is only memories.

After our shopping outing we headed back to the apartment to change clothes for the most fabulous party. I wore a high-waisted, bell-skirt chartreuse dress and black high heels. We grabbed the cakes and bottles of wine to bring as gifts and headed towards the subway.

This is the most fabulous party, because not only is it located near Central Park and in a beautiful (large!) apartment, but it is located on the street where they store the balloons prior to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. So we took lots of pictures of the balloons and then headed upstairs. There were tons of interesting people to meet, many journalists, photographers and foodies, and of course, great food and champagne.

It’s been a pretty good start to my New York Adventures.

Feel free to follow me on Facebook or twitter for picture updates.

Happy Thanksgiving to all! Tune in tomorrow night to hear about my dinner with a food writer, famous photographer and the coolest cat you’ve ever met.

By the way, in the photo below, the fantastic sweater that I am wearing was a gift from my boyfriend, Jackson. Who, I am proud to say, picked it out all on his own and has fabulous fashion sense.

The second photo – me with Snoopy before he goes to perform for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

20111124-004801.jpg

20111124-004924.jpg